

## For immediate release July 1, 2020

## Madison, IN: Madison Cubs earn esteemed IHSAA Sportsmanship Award

Madison athletics has been named a recipient of the IHSAA Sportsmanship Award for 2019-2020, the Indiana High School Athletic Association has announced.

Madison Consolidated High School is one of 23 schools from across the state to be named a winner for the recently completed academic year. "This sportsmanship award is a great honor," shared Joe Bronkella, Madison Athletic Director. "This is one of those awards that every athletic department in the state would like to earn. This is an incredible honor and really attests to the positive impact that is occurring in our athletic department. The hard work by our athletes and coaches is evident. This type of recognition confirms we have our priorities set the way they should be in regards to our athletic program."



Members of the Student Athletic Council (front row left to right): Harper Watson, Lucy Lynch, Lilly Konkle, Keara Eder, Jordyn Bilz, Kennedy Stidham, Clare Wilber, Olivia Spencer, Ruby Jacobs, and Hailey Jenkins. Back row: Neel Mistry, Jack Kelsey, Carter Schutte, Luke Ommen, Matt Ward, Trenton Barnes, Luke Miller, Joe Bronkella - AD, Elias Hanson, Emma Cammack, Alivia Brawner, Morgan Cahall, Brooklyn Cline, Jessie Dyer, Abby Ferguson, Brooklyn Cornelius, Gracie True and Taylor Lynch.

To earn this distinction, the athletic department has to complete a series of steps and submit to the IHSAA. The Student Athletic Council (SAC), formed in Bronkella's first year at Madison, was

instrumental in achieving this honor. "The SAC is comprised of high school students (sophomore through senior classmen), who choose to apply, understand they will be have references checked and must have a clean disciplinary record in order to be selected to represent their fellow student-athletes," stated Bronkella. "This started as a small group and grows each year and helps to develop student leadership on and off of the playing field. This group is a liaison between their teams, teachers, coaches, and athletics and brings ideas and projects to life to better the student-athlete experience." During the 2019-2020 season, members of the SAC worked to bring a unified track team as a new program. Council members conducted fundraisers throughout the year to cover the costs of the program and several participated in the annual Polar Plunge. As with other spring sports, the COVID-19 pandemic canceled the season but unified track activities will resume for the 2020-2021 season. The members of the SAC travel to and meet with other council members from other schools throughout the year as well to discuss opportunities and share ideas.

Other schools earning the IHSAA Sportsmanship distinction for the past school year are Clay City, Edinburgh, Fremont, Goshen, Harrison (West Lafayette), Highland, Kankakee Valley, Logansport, Columbus North, Mishawaka, Mooresville, Morristown, North Vermillion, Oak Hill, Pendleton Heights, Pioneer, River Forest, Rock Creek Academy, Sheridan, South Bend Riley, Western Boone and Winamac.



